6

26.12.1944

On December 26, 1944, there was heavy artillery fire. The small children in the cellar cried and the adults prayed. Countless shells could be heard whistling over the house. Suddenly a dull thud and an avalanche of debris 2 meters high, followed by a cellar-high opaque cloud of dust rolled toward us. All the cellar inhabitants, about 18 in number, were trapped.

We had suffered an impact in the south side of the house, right in the staircase, where Octavie (Strotz Pierre's widow, norn Mathieu from Tintange, my mother's friend), the wife of the house, mother of 5 children and widow for 2 years, used to stay. Only a few minutes earlier, she had left this very place for a short time for reasons that were inexplicable. A part of the wall had collapsed to the height of the roof.

After the first few minutes of shock, I groped for my cousin (Gremling Jos) who was lying next to me and asked him: "Are you still alive? "Yes" he answered. Everyone had remained unharmed and so there was no panic.

When the cloud of dust had settled and a candle was burning again here and there, all faces had changed. All were dark brown, colored by the dust and looked as if they came from another planet. Only their eyes glowed frighteningly.

Two men, Diederich Pier (husband of Thérèse Wagner, 1a rue de l'Etang) and Raach Jules (son of Von Raach Anton, 12 rue Romaine) broke in the hatch, which was located on the north side of the cellar, with a "mini-iron". They thus enabled us to escape during a cease-fire to the Keller a Scheppen (Meyers-Reding Léon, 14 rue Romaine), where we were liberated by the American infantry on December 27, 1944. In the kitchen of this house, 3 exhausted German soldiers were captured without resistance. Most of them had taken flight, in the direction of Harlingen.

-> Please continue reading Part 4 here

CONTACT FORM

You can leave us a message below.

*These fields are required.

Please verify the recaptcha above before sending

6

26.12.1944

Am 26.12.1944 war schwerer Artilleriebeschuss. Die Kleinkinder im Keller weinten und die Erwachsenen beteten. Unzählige Granaten hören wir über das Haus pfeifen. Plötzlich ein dumpfer Schlag und eine 2 m hohe Gerölllawine, gefolgt von einer kellerhohen undurchsichtigen Staubwolke wälzte sich auf uns zu. Sämtliche Kellerbewohner, etwa 18 an der Zahl, waren eingeschlossen.

Wir hatten einen Einschlag in die Südseite des Wohnhauses erlitten, genau in das Treppenhaus, dort wo Octavie (Witwe von Strotz Pierre, geborene Mathieu von Tintange, Freundin meiner Mutter), die Frau des Hauses, Mutter von 5 Kindern und seit 2 Jahren Witwe, pflegte sich aufzuhalten. Erst wenige Minuten zuvor hatte sie aus unerklärlichen Gründen eben diese Stelle für kurze Zeit verlassen. Ein Teil der Mauer war bis in die Dachhöhe eingestürzt.

Nach den ersten Schreckminuten tastete ich nach meinem Vetter (Gremling Jos), welcher neben mir lag, und fragte ihn: "Lebst du noch?". "Ja" antwortete er. Alle waren unverletzt geblieben und so entstand keine Panik.

Als die Staubwolke sich gelegt hatte und hie und da wieder eine Kerze brannte, hatten sich sämtliche Gesichter verändert. Alle waren dunkelbraun, gefärbt vom Staub und sahen aus, als kämen sie von einem anderen Planeten. Nur die Augen leuchteten furchterregend.

Zwei Männer Diederich Pier (Ehemann von Thérèse Wagner, 1a rue de l'Etang) und Raach Jules (Sohn Von Raach Anton, 12 rue Romaine) brachen mit einem "Mineeisen" die Luke ein, die sich auf der Nordseite des Kellers befand. Sie ermöglichten uns damit, während einer Waffenpause die Flucht in den Keller a Scheppen (Meyers-Reding Léon,14 rue Romaine), wo wir am 27.12.1944 von der amerikanischen Infanterie befreit wurden. In der Küche dieses Hauses ließen sich 3 müde deutsche Soldaten widerstandslos gefangen nehmen. Die meisten hatten die Flucht ergriffen, Richtung Harlingen.

-> Lesen sie bitte hier Teil 4 weiter

KONTAKT FORM

Benutzen Sie bitte diese Kontakt Form, wenn Sie eine Frage haben.

*Diese Eingaben sind erforderlich.

Bitte überprüfen Sie das Recaptcha vor dem Senden